Makar Sankranti

Makar Sankranti is one of the major harvest festivals in India. This is the most auspicious occasions for the Hindus, and this festival celebrates almost all part of India with great devotion, fervour, and gaiety. This is the only one Hindu festival or can be taken as Indian festival that always falls on same day every year. This festival celebrated on every 14th of the January Month. Some exceptions when this fell on 13th & 15th Month of January. Makar Sankranti is also believed to mark the arrival of spring in India.

Apart from a harvest festival, it is also treated as the beginning of an auspicious phase in Indian culture. It refers as the 'holy phase of transition'. Sankranti marks the termination of winter season and beginning of a new harvest or spring season.


When sun inters in Capricorn is called Makar Sankranti. It marks the day when the sun begins its northward journey & enters the sign of Makar (the Capricorn) from the Tropic of Cancer. It is like the movement of sun from Dakshinayana (south) to Uttarayana (north) hemisphere. After Makar Sankranti, The sun gets solstice. It's believed that sun getting in solstice, starts Sunrise for God and Sunset for Demon and begins night for them. In Solstice period, days grow and night gets shorter. The Sun stands for knowledge, spiritual light and wisdom. Thus it signifies an event wherein the Sun-God seems to remind their children that 'Tamaso Ma Jyotirgamaya'-may you go higher and higher, to more and more Light and never to Darkness.


Many melas held on this day. One of the most famous is Kumbh Mela, that held on every 12 year and second on every 6 years, that called Ardh Kumbh Mela. Kumbh & Ardh Kumbh mela held on 4 holy location its- Haridwar, Prayag (Allahabd), Ujjain, and Nasik. Also, Magha Mela that called Mini Kunbh Mela held on every year at Prayag, Gangasagar Mela at Ganga River, Makar Mela in Odisha, Tusu Mela (Tusu Porab) is celebrated in many parts of Jharkhand and West Bengal.

Makar Sankranti and Region Names
  • Makar Sankranti: Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Haryana, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and West Bengal
  • Uttarayan: Gujarat and Rajasthan
  • Maghi: Haryana, Himachal Pradesh and Punjab
  • Lohri: Punjab
  • Pongal: Tamil Nadu
  • Magh Bihu or Bhogali Bihu: Assam Valley
  • Shishur Saenkraat: Kashmir Valley
  • Khichdi: Uttar Pradesh and western Bihar
  • Makara Sankramana: Karnataka
  • Makara Sankramanam: Andhra Pradesh
Also, Some Country celebrated but under different names & ways
  • Nepal: Maghe Sankranti
  • Tharu people: Maghi
  • Other people: Maghe Sankranti or Maghe Sakrati
  • Thailand: Songkran
  • Laos: Pi Ma Lao
  • Myanmar: Thingyan
  • Cambodia: Moha Sangkran